About Us

In the early 1947’s the SA Hengel Unie was established with the members which include some coastal Unions and Suid Wes Africa Union. During 1948 was the Transvaalse Hengel Unie established and was affiliated with the SA Hengel Unie. At first, the participation between the unions at that stage was focussed on saltwater discipline. The clubs of the Transvaalse Hengel Unie took part in Freshwater competitions against one another.

Most of the Provincial in land Angling Unions was established between 1951 and 1952. The coastal Unions was established before this period. At the yearly meeting of the SA Hengel Unie in 1957, the decision was made that the freshwater angling discipline may have its own National Championships with the host being the Transvaalse Hengel Unie.

During 1967 the first freshwater angling trails was held for the selection of a team. The first participation on junior level took place during 1972 between Noord Transvaal Unie and the Transvaalse Hengel Unie. The first junior National Championship followed during 1975 after the Vrystaat and Natal Unies joined the division. The first Junior Springbokspan was selected in 1977.

During 1971 the Department of Sport decided that all the disciplines of angling must be acting separately with the SA Hengel Unie as the overall coordination body. It was then when the Suid Afrikaanse Varswater Hengel Vereniging was established.

The participation of ladies as a division was presented to the annual meetings of the SA Hengel Unie during 1971 and 1973. It was however not approved. The SA Varswater Hengel Vereniging approved the participation of ladies during 1975.

At first, during 1967 the championships were organised in two zones. It was only since 1971 that the angling was done on specific pegs and during 1972 the team size was established as 12 anglers. The angling rules were developed in 1967 as the establishment of the competitive angling developed.